First World War Memorial

Following on from last week’s First World War commemorations in Woolsery, Alminstone class completed the last 27 of the 111 tiles that will form our community’s lasting memorial to each of the men from our three villages and surrounding farms who went to war a hundred years ago.

image

image

image

The tiles will now go off for firing and mounting onto a backing board, before our unveiling ceremony on Armitice Day in November.

image

image

2 responses on First World War Memorial

  1. My grandfather Albert Perkins was one of the men who went to war from Woolsery and I think this is a lovely project to remember them. I live in Kent now but hope that some time next year I might get the opportunity to see these tiles.

  2. I’ve put an article onto the Devon Remembers website (www.devonremembers.info) explaining about the Remembrance parade in September, and the commemorative tiles you’ve been busy making.

    I’m really looking forward to seeing photographs of the completed tiles when they’ve been fired and set, and hope I can share them on the Devon Remembers website.

    It will be a lovely memorial to those 111 local men who died during the First World War; you should be very proud of your commemorative contribution.

Comments are closed

Skip to toolbar